39520 Woodward Ave #230, Bloomfield Hills, MI 48304
Drunk Driving Lawyer
Michigan’s Premier Drunk Driving Lawyer
In the event that you have been charged with a DUI or OWI, it is crucial that you get proper help and fast. José Fanego is Oakland County, MI’s premier drunk driving lawyer. Our team of experts will help you navigate your situation quickly and effectively. Drunk driving in Michigan is a serious offense that is not taken lightly by prosecutors. In order to navigate your DUI, it is necessary that you get help from our experienced legal team. It is important to remember that a charge is not a conviction. Our team will do our best to ensure that the charges do not become a hefty conviction.
Contact José Fanego
The Drunk Driving Limits of Michigan
The legal limit of blood alcohol content (BAC) for Michigan drivers aged 21 and over is .08%. If you are stopped while driving with a blood alcohol content greater than .08%, you can be charged with a DUI. If your blood alcohol content is .17% or higher, Michigan’s high-BAC laws will impose greater penalties. There is a zero-tolerance policy for drinking under the age of 21. If you are stopped driving under the age of 21 with a blood alcohol content of greater than .02%, you may be charged with a DUI.
What Happens if I Get a DUI Charge?
When you get charged with a DUI, you have to go through the court process in order to find out if you are convicted. It is the goal of the police and the court to convict anyone who has been criminally charged. With our help, we will work together to stop you from being convicted. If you are convicted, you can expect a combination of fines, driving privilege restrictions, points against your license, and possibly jail time.
Why Do I Need a Drunk Driving Lawyer?
Since it is the government's job to try to convict anyone with criminal charges, you need us on your side to help stop those charges from becoming convictions. The laws in Michigan for driving and drinking are highly restrictive, and the court will try its best to convict anyone with these charges. Our team at José Fanego has decades of experience fighting DUI charges in the state of Michigan. With our help, you will receive the best possible outcome for your situation. We strive to protect your rights, and we will work hard to get all charges dropped or the next best possible outcome.
First Offense DUIFor a first-offense DUI in Michigan, you can face up to 93 days in jail, fines of $100-$500, 360 hours of community service, and you may be required to install a device that checks your BAC before being able to operate your vehicle. If you have been charged with a DUI where there were passengers in the vehicle under the age of 16, or if anyone was injured or killed at the time of the DUI charge, your penalties will increase significantly.
Second Offense DUISecond-offense DUIs are handled more aggressively by the prosecutor. If you have previously been convicted of a DUI within the last seven years and you get charged with another DUI, you will be facing losing your license, a series of fines, and potential imprisonment. When your license gets taken, it will be gone for at least one year. Second-offense DUIs require you to act quickly.
Call Michigan’s Drunk Driving Lawyer Today
In Oakland County, MI, our drunk driving lawyer is the right choice for you. If you are facing first or second-offense DUIs in Michigan, we can help you fight the charges. Our team has decades of experience fighting criminal charges, and we will help you get the best possible outcome for your situation. Call our Michigan drunk driving lawyer today to protect yourself the right way.